Sad

I don't remember where I took this but I do know I adjusted the colours this evening ...

I don’t remember where I took this but I do know I adjusted the colours this evening …

I don’t know how everyone else feels today but I do feel sad. There are a few reasons. There was a shooting. That was sad. I found out that I had unintentionally hurt someone and they decided to hurt me in return. I’ve been feeling frustrated and not sure how to express it. And a friend of mine is also sad.

But I’m thankful. I’m thankful that I have my friend to talk to. I know she’ll be reading this because she told me she does. I haven’t seen her for awhile but I know that I can pick up the phone or type out an email and she’s there for me. I hate those emails that go out saying “even though you never hear from me …” blah, blah, blah, blah, blah, blah, blah! I think they’re a cop out. However, I do know with A that she does genuinely feel this way and that life does get in the way. And when I wrote and told her that I had been hurt she offered me perspective, comfort and helped to lift the greyness I was feeling. And she was prompt. She delivers when I need it. Thank you.

I’m thankful that I am surrounded by love and understanding. By people who give me the benefit of the doubt. Who see my flaws and have learnt to overlook, embrace and love them. I love that to be annoying is more often than not a term of endearment. I love that I could pick up the phone today and find reassurance from my mum. Love.

I am thankful for the lessons that life has taught me. Life is not a shining path that we glide upon. It is full of valleys, full of pebbles and stones. It has soaring summits that lay beside deep pits. We navigate our way through them. Thankfully my pits have been few and there has always been a hand to help me out of them. I know not everyone is so fortunate.

For those who do not have these gifts in their life, I feel for you. All these give me strength to move past or through my pain. I can’t imagine how it would feel to be without that security.

The world grapples with a pain beyond imagining and finds no sense. It seems that pain begets more pain. Theories abound, words are plentiful, craziness is rife.

But there are small chinks where the light is coming through.

I pray that the person who feels alone is not. I pray that they will be able to access these gifts I often take for granted. I pray that pain will not inflict more pain. That those who are hurting will find the strength to move through their pain. To turn the other cheek and not hit out.

I pray that we all find the strength to do that today.

 

This entry was posted in Sad and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

